Presented by Duane Tinker:
CEO, Dental Compliance Specialists, LLC
Compliance Consultant and Speaker
Who should attend?
Texas dentists who have a DEA registration and auxiliary staff (Designated Agents) who are tasked with preparing or handling prescriptions or who communicate controlled substance prescriptions to pharmacies by phone.
Note: Dentists must complete this course by the one-year anniversary of the issuance of their DEA registration.
This is a required course for dentists who hold a DEA registration. This course is intended to satisfy SBDE rules 111.1 as of this date. The material covered will discuss rules and regulations related to the prescription of opioids and other controlled substances as well as approved procedures of prescribing and monitoring controlled substances.
Participants will develop a detailed understanding of Texas laws and TSBDE rules relating to prescribing controlled substances
Participants will develop a working knowledge of how to properly delegate certain tasks related to prescribing and monitoring of controlled substances
Participants will be able to articulate steps to be completed prior to prescribing controlled substances
Notes Concerning CE:
Rule 111.1 - These 2 hours of continuing education may be used to satisfy the recordkeeping continuing education requirements of §104.1 of this title (relating to Requirement). After completing the initial requirement, a dentist may, no more than once annually, take the course under this subsection to fulfill hours toward the recordkeeping continuing education requirement.
For dentists authorized to prescribe controlled substances before September 1, 2020, the 2 hours of required continuing education must be completed no later than September 1, 2021.
For dentists who are authorized to prescribe controlled substances on or after September 1, 2020, the 2 hours of required continuing education must be completed not later than the first anniversary after the person is issued an authorization to prescribe.
For dentists who have surrendered the permit or authorization to prescribe controlled substances or have their permit or authorization to prescribe controlled substances revoked by any administrative, civil, or criminal proceeding, the requirements of paragraph (2) of this subsection shall apply to any new permit or authorization granted on or after September 1, 2020, regardless of whether the dentist previously satisfied the requirements of this subsection.
Rule 104.1 - Up to 8 hours of coursework may be in risk-management courses. Acceptable "risk management" courses include courses in risk management, record-keeping, and ethics. Dentists may complete continuing education courses described by §111.1 of this title (relating to Additional Continuing Education Required) to satisfy a portion of the risk-management requirement.
Our Learning Management system is hosted by a third party. You will receive an automated from firstname.lastname@example.org notifying you of the course you were assigned.
*You will be given 60 days' access to this course. If a time extension is needed, please call 817-755-0035.
2-Hour Self-Instruction Credit
The course is $95/person. AGD Subject Code: 565
This course is self-instruction hosted by Dental Compliance Specialists. For questions or assistance, please email email@example.com or call 817-755-0035.
Original Release Date: 7/1/2019
Review Date: 2/14/2023
Expiration Date: 2/14/2027
Refunds/Exchanges allowed up to 7 days after the course is purchased providing the certificate of completion has not already been obtained. To request a refund, email firstname.lastname@example.org or call 817-755-0035.