Menu
Cart

DENTAL COMPLIANCE RULES: NEW IN 2021 [PART II]

Posted by Andrea Baysinger on

In this episode of Talking with the Toothcop, we’re sharing a few more important reminders and things to stay on top of in 2021. This includes evaluating X-ray equipment, quarterly water testing, new CE requirements, completing CPR courses, and handling your exclusions monitoring. Why is it so important to stay on top of these things? Find out in this episode!

Outline of This Episode

  • [2:27] X-ray equipment
  • [6:26] Quarterly water testing
  • [7:53] Human trafficking CE
  • [9:51] CPR courses
  • [12:04] Exclusions monitoring

Do NOT neglect your X-ray equipment

Texas has some of the most stringent enforcement in the country. X-ray rules were updated in 2019 and effective today. If you have digital X-ray machines, you’re required to have a Quality Assurance/Quality Control (QA/QC) process. That means you need to get out your X-ray manual and do an equipment performance evaluation (EPE).  

For 2D technology, you must do this evaluation within 2 weeks of installation and every four years. If you have a 3D X-ray machine, the evaluation is required within 30 days of install and every year thereafter (in a time-period no later than every 14 months). 

If you miss the inspection, you may get lucky with a slap on the hand. If it happens again? A $4,000 fine. Don’t mess this up. 

Get your quarterly water testing completed

Now would be a great time to do quarterly water testing. You want to make sure that your output meets safe drinking water standards (500 CFU or less). It doesn’t matter what treatment protocol you have—you need to verify it’s working properly with water testing. You can do it yourself, or mail a sample off. If you don’t have one in place, I recommend ProEdge Dental. 

Complete a hands-on CPR course

The state audits 5% of all licensees every year in the state of Texas. This year, people are getting busted for not completing the hands-on CPR courses. You can’t try to sneak by with the online-only courses. You have to do a hands-on skills evaluation or it will be rejected. If they reject it—and you waited until the last minute to complete your certification—your license may expire. That could mean you’re practicing without a valid license, which is punishable. 

The bottom line? Track your credentials. We know they all expire at different times, so set up a calendar and plan. Make sure you meet your requirements for the year. You can also compile the expirations for all of your staff and get a reminder in the calendar 45 days before. Don’t wait until the last minute.

Exclusions monitoring

If you work with Medicaid, a federally qualified healthcare center, private dental practice/DSO, and you provide service to Medicare or Medicaid patients, you must do exclusions monitoring. Check before you hire someone and every month after hire. The more frequently you check, the fewer claims will be affected. If one of your staff members is on the exclusions list—even if they’re administrative—every claim filed will be tainted. You might have to return hundreds of thousands of dollars of claims that have been paid to you. Minimize your risk by doing your due diligence. Check every doctor and staff member monthly, no matter their role.  

Resources & People Mentioned 

Connect With Duane


Share this post



← Older Post Newer Post →